The Whole Earth ~ Is Our Hospital

September 5, 2010 § Leave a comment

The earth is the Lord’s

The whole earth is our hospital
Endowed by the ruined millionaire,
Wherein, if we do well, we shall
Die of the absolute paternal care
That will not leave us, but prevents us everywhere.
T.S. Eliot, “Four Quartets

bear fruit

‘I am the true vine, and my Father is the vine-grower.
2He removes every branch in me that bears no fruit. Every branch that bears fruit he prunes* to make it bear more fruit.
The wounded surgeon plies the steelCome
That questions the distempered part;
Beneath the bleeding hands we feel
The sharp compassion of the healer’s art
Resolving the enigma of the fever chart.
T.S. Eliot, “Four Quartets

Rest

3You have already been cleansed* by the word that I have spoken to you.

4Abide in me as I abide in you.

Just as the branch cannot bear fruit by itself unless it abides in the vine, neither can you unless you abide in me.

5I am the vine, you are the branches.

Those who abide in me and I in them bear much fruit, because apart from me you can do nothing.

John 15: 3-5

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Whole Earth ~ Is Our Hospital at Casting Words to the Wind.

meta

